Accusing The Family International (TFI) Christian group of being a cult is an erroneous theological doctrine

I was compelled to write this article today as I actually did encounter a cult today when I was in the city. I was basically walking along the street and a man in a suit and tie confronted me, and explained he was from a Bible college and wanted to make a presentation to me. I’m a reasonable guy so I asked him to make his presentation; he then started twisting various Bible scriptures, and claimed that if I did not believe New Jerusalem city was God’s wife who married Jesus then I was not saved. I literally could not believe what I was hearing as this was the most insane twisting of scripture I had ever heard in my life. The man stated that Jesus said to the Samaritan woman at the well, “whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.” The man then showed me a scripture from Revelation 22 that stated, “And the Spirit and the bride say, Come. And let him that heareth say, Come. And let him that is athirst come. And whosoever will, let him take the water of life freely.” (Revelation 22:17) He then stated that the bride in the above verse was the female version of God who was actually a city (New Jerusalem), and that if I did not believe New Jerusalem was married to Jesus I could not go to Heaven. He claimed I could only come to the living water of salvation Jesus talked about, if I believed in the female version of God who was a city. I explained to this man that John 3 clearly explained that salvation was through faith in Jesus alone, and there was no indication in scripture about believing in a female God who was a city. However this person had clearly been indoctrinated with false salvation ideologies based on the extreme twisting of scripture. He believed that one could only go to Heaven if you believed New Jerusalem was a female god married to Jesus.

After pondering on this man’s ideologies I can honestly say I have never heard such outrageous false doctrines before in my life. I cannot believe people could actually believe this. I am not going to name the group because I don’t believe in naming and shaming but this group is a clear example of a cult. A cult masquerades as followers of the Bible and will use the Bible and their own false doctrines; to lead people away from Biblical truths that lead to salvation. The Bible says, “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” (John 3:16) We are saved and will enter Heaven after we die based on our faith that Jesus Christ died on the cross for our sins and rose from the dead on the third day. “If thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.” (Romans 10:9) The Bible is clear in numerous scriptures that we will enter the Kingdom of Heaven based on our faith in Jesus Christ. Nowhere in the Bible does it mention that you need to believe New Jerusalem is a female version of God, and that if you don’t believe this you’re going to hell. This is unbiblical nonsense and a twisting of scripture that is leading people astray (and unfortunately this cult does have many followers who are deceived by this nonsense).The above group discussed is in fact a cult masquerading as a Christian group in the body of Christ.

I would now like to turn my attention to The Family International (TFI) Christian organization. TFI has been accused of being a cult on a number of occasions by various Ministers and personalities; however it is erroneous to accuse TFI of being a cult from a theological and logical perspective. TFI believe in the fundamental salvation by faith doctrine as outlined in John 3:16 and Romans 10:9, so if TFI members follow this fundamental salvation doctrine, the Bible clearly indicates these members will enter the Kingdom of Heaven and are a genuine part of the Body of Christ. TFI members are genuine members of the body of Christ and are not a cult teaching false salvation doctrines which lead people away from God’s Kingdom. The cult I met recently who said, “Those who don’t believe New Jerusalem is God’s wife are not saved” are an example of an erroneous cult leading people astray. A cult masquerading as a group in the body of Christ will twist the Bible into false doctrines that lead people away from salvation. TFI are a genuine Christian group in the body of Christ, because they teach a Biblical salvation message which Jesus and the Apostles preached.

TFI does teach some progressive sexual doctrines that are different from the mainstream Christian church denominations but this does not make them a cult. According to scripture, TFI’s salvation doctrines make them genuine members of the body of Christ and they are not a cult. If people wish to have progressive sexual belief’s then that is their personal choice, and it does not affect their salvation or the salvation of others. One must also consider King Solomon’s sexual practices as he was sexually involved with hundreds of women. Some of these women were wives and others were girlfriends (concubines) and Solomon did write large portions of the Holy Bible. If one examines the Holy Bible, the one husband and one wife doctrine is not necessarily Biblical. I think people attacking TFI because their sexual doctrines differ to their own beliefs should really examine themselves. Jesus himself said not to judge others and I think judging and labelling TFI as a cult is wrong and unfair. The label of cult (a manipulative group operating outside of the body of Christ) can be placed on the manipulative and scripture twisting group I met in the city recently, but to label TFI as a cult is a theological error. I commend TFI members for actually being active disciples of Jesus by getting the Biblical salvation message into the community, this type of evangelism is essential because you have dangerous cults out there preaching false salvation messages in the community, and these false doctrines are preventing people from receiving genuine salvation. The fact that TFI is getting the Biblical salvation message into the community, gives me encouragement that TFI is countering and opposing dangerous cults by getting the truth out there. God bless TFI and I genuinely appreciate the good work these folks are doing. If you would like more information on TFI and their Biblical salvation message please visit their official website at www.thefamilyinternational.org

 

Leave a Reply

